Tufted duck

Tufted duckA drake Tufted duck shows off its plumes. I made this painting based on a distant photo taken on wednesday in North Cave wetlands, and I filled the details from other photos. The wind made the tuft stand out. I drew a first layer on pencil and made a separate layer for the eye, beak, dark plumage, white plumage, and background, and when finished I made the pencil layer invisible. Layers allow to correct position or errors easily. I use the ArtRage Studio software and as tools I used airbrush, oil brush, ink pen for the very fine detail of the eye and beak and eraser.

Leave a Reply

